• Tj Leitch

Hunt test

Updated: Jul 7

Hunt tests are for example organized by the American Kennel Club (AKC), the North American Hunting Retriever Association (NAHRA), the United Kennel Club (UKC) under the auspices of the Hunting Retriever Club (HRC) a

Organizers in North America:

American Kennel Club hunt tests

The American Kennel Club (AKC) awards the titles of Junior Hunter (JH), Senior Hunter (SH), Master Hunter (MH) and Master National Hunter (MNH) for performance in hunt tests. The standards for the various levels are designed to approximate the situations and conditions encountered when hunting. Dogs are required to prove their ability to retrieve and find birds. The AKC provides different hunt test formats for different types of gun dogs. There are tests for non slip retrievers, flushing spaniels and pointing breeds.

North American Hunting Retriever Association hunt tests

The North American Hunting Retriever Association (NAHRA) awards the titles of Started Hunting Retriever (SR), Working Retriever (WR), Master Hunting Retriever (MHR) and Grand Master Hunting Retriever (GMHR). The training's standard for the higher levels of NAHRA hunt test requires a more advanced degree of training than the training's standard of AKC hunt tests. These simulate actual hunting by testing for the following skill sets: quartering, trailing a crippled duck and sit to flush. NAHRA tests are primarily for non slip retrievers, although many spaniel and versatile breeds may compete. Poodles, and Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retrievers(NSDTR) are often found on the NAHRA's scene.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All